Long Days and Short Years

just trying to pay attention so I don't miss my life

A Poem for the Person Who Stole My Purse

Leave a comment

You know me better than I know you, and so

I’m writing to say hello.  Did you see

the travel mug

or the plastic elephant

before you covered them with broken glass?

Did you think oh this one’s a mother

as you lifted up the little pink raincoat?

*

You know me better than I know you, and so

I’m writing to see if you could check my planner for me.

What day was that doctor’s appointment?

And what time does Art Camp start?

I forgot to write in “Visit zone five police station”

and “Get new driver’s license.”

Could you add that in for me?

*

You know me better than I know you, and so

I’m writing to see what you bought at Wal-mart.

Sixteen hundred dollars is a lot to spend on diapers

or food for your family.

The lady on the phone said that it was probably giftcards–

giftcards resold for cash,

cash to feed an addiction.

Only you can tell me who it was you were feeding.

(For your sake, I hope it was kids.)

*

You know me better than I know you, and so

I’m writing to tell you that I’d like to forgive you,

but it’s hard.

Hard to forgive a theoretical criminal,

my imaginary enemy, and so

I place you in better hands than mine.

You are not unknown,

even if you’d like to be.

But don’t worry,

being known may be your only hope.

Leave a Reply

